You choose who sees your location.
If you have all your trips set to “Only me”, no one except you can see that location. If that trip is set to “Followers”, only your followers can see that location. If you’ve set it to “Everyone”, anyone can see that location.
For everyone who creates a new Polarsteps account, the account type (”Who can follow me?”) is set to “Only people I accept”. When another user wants to follow you, you will receive a notification and you can choose to accept or decline their follow request. Only after accepting a follow request can this person see the trips you’ve made available to followers, and your location.
Don’t want to make all your trips accessible to your followers? You can use the privacy settings for each individual trip to determine who can view each trip and locations, photos, text, and statistics in it.
By default, the ”Who can see this trip?” setting for every new trip you add to Polarsteps is set to “Followers”. You can change this privacy level to “Only me” or “Everyone” when creating a new trip or at any point.
When you have added Travel Buddies to a trip, the “Only me” privacy level will mean only you and Travel Buddies.
If you change a trip’s privacy level to “Everyone”, this means that your trip with all published Steps and their content, your route, and trip statistics are visible publicly by anyone visiting your profile. If you wish to keep full control over your trip visibility, we don’t recommend selecting “Everyone”.
Here’s a short instruction video on how to adjust the privacy setting of a trip