You can manage who can follow you and see your trips. Whether it's all your trips as a whole or your most recent adventure, you're in control.
- Account settings (who can follow you).
- The settings for individual trips (allowing you to decide, on an individual basis, if a trip can be seen by just you, your followers, or by everyone)
- Limited public profile information (for more info, please read this article)
- Account privacy settings and how to switch between them
- Trip privacy options and how to set it for each trip
- People can see your trip, but they are not your followers? What to check and how to stop it
Account privacy options and how to switch between them
You control who can see the content of your account through the setting called 'Who can follow me'. There are two options to choose from:
-
Only people I accept (private account)
People can only see your trips after you've accepted their follow request. This means that you’re only sharing experiences with people that you have already decided you can trust.
-
Anyone
Your account is open for anyone to follow. Everyone who sends you a follow requests is accepted as your follower automatically. Perfect for those who love to share their story far and wide!
How to change your account’s privacy settings:
- Go to ‘Settings’
- Scroll down to ‘Account type’ > 'Who can follow me'
- Select your preference
Trip privacy settings and how to set them for each trip
-
Everyone
Your trip is visible to everyone – meaning even someone who doesn’t follow you or have a Polarsteps account can join in on your adventures. But remember, an active trip includes your location while on the road, which should be kept in mind when sharing widely!
Note: If you have a private account, but you set an individual trip to 'Everyone', that trip will still be visible to everyone.
-
Followers
Only people that follow you on Polarsteps, or people who you’ve shared your secret link with, will be able to see your trip in its entirety. Not sure what a follower is? Read more here.
Note: If you want to approve people before they can follow you, make sure your account settings are set to private.
-
Only me (or Travel Buddies)
This means that your trip, including details such as your current location, photos, and steps, are only visible to you. If you have added any Travel Buddies to your trip, they can also see it.
Changing your trip’s privacy settings:
- View the desired trip in your Polarsteps account
- Press ‘Trip menu’ and then ‘Trip settings’
- Scroll down to ‘Who can see this trip?’
- Switch the toggle to your desired privacy setting
People can see your trip, but they are not your followers? What to check and how to stop it
If you have a private account, but people are still able to see your trips, there are two possible scenarios:
- The privacy level of your trip is set to 'Everyone'. Even if your account is private, trips that are set to public can still be viewed by everyone. To avoid this, make sure you set the privacy level to 'Followers' or 'Only me' for your trip. or;
- People are viewing your trip via your secret trip link. Everyone who has the secret link to your trip can see it in full. So, make sure you only share your link with people you trust to not share it with others or post about it on their social media accounts (without your permission). For more information about secret trip links, please read this article.