Most people will start tracking their trip at home. This means that the first location of your route might show where you live. If you decide to share your trip with others, for privacy reasons, you might want not want everyone to see your start or end location.
To make this easier, we have added the option in your trip settings to hide the start location of your trip.
In short, when you enable the feature;
- It hides locations within a 5km radius from your start location for any followers.
- If you go back into that same circle at the end of your trip, the locations are also hidden.
- If you don’t end your trip in the same circle, your end location will not be hidden for followers.
To enable hiding your start location
- Open your trip
- Go to the settings and select privacy settings
- Disable the toggle "Show start location"
- Save your trip settings
You will now see a circle around your starting location on the map. Good to know; your first Travel Tracker step is not perfectly in the middle of the circle. This is on purpose. The circle is located in a random position around your starting location, so that other people viewing your trip won't be able to tell exactly where you started.
What do your followers see?
For your own trip, you still see the locations tracked in the starting circle, but followers won't be able to see any of your locations within the circle, or the routes connecting them.
However, your followers will see the steps you've added within the circle. A step will always appear in the middle of the circle for followers, also if you placed it at your exact starting location.
When you take a flight from somewhere within the circle, your followers will see your flight line only where it leaves the circle, and it's drawn as if it starts from the middle of the circle.
At the end of your trip
When you return home, the same circle will still be there, and any new locations recorded within, will be hidden to followers once again.
If you end your trip elsewhere, please know that these locations are still visible to your followers.
You can choose to delete any location manually. For more information, please have a look at this article: How can I delete (inaccurate) Travel Tracker steps?