Who can see my Polarsteps account and trips?
That's really up to you — whether it's your account as a whole or your most recent adventure, you're in control.
- Overall account settings (who can see the content of your account).
- The settings for individual trips (allowing you to decide, on an individual basis, if a trip can be seen by just you, your followers, or by everyone).
- The different account privacy settings and how to switch between them
- The different trip privacy options and how to set it for each trip.
- Why you might be finding that people can see your trip even though your account is private (and how to stop it).
The different account privacy options and how to switch between them
You control who can and can’t see the content of your account. There are two privacy settings to choose from:
How to change your account’ privacy settings:
- Go to ‘Settings’
- Scroll down to ‘Account type’
- Switch the ‘Private Account’ toggle to on or off according to your preference
The different trip privacy settings and how to set them for each trip
Changing your trip’s privacy settings:
- View the desired trip in your Polarsteps account
- Press ‘Trip Menu’ and then ‘Trip Settings’
- Scroll down to ‘Who can see this trip?’
- Switch the toggle to your desired privacy setting
Why you might be finding that people can see your trip even though your account is private (and how to stop it).
If you have a private account, but people are still able to see your trips, there are two possible scenarios:
The privacy level of your trip is set to public. Even if your account is private, trips that are set to public can still be viewed by everyone — to avoid this make sure you set the privacy level to ‘My followers' or ‘Me only’' for your trip.