Can I merge or split trips?
Nope, you can't. At this moment you can only merge a trip manually by adding new Steps to your trip to complete the trip.
If you want to split a trip you can do this manually by creating a new trip.
Merging a trip or splitting a trip manually will probably take you quite some time though. Better spend that time on something more fun, like traveling. So stick to one trip!